Skip to content

New York Anime Festival 2009

09/27/2009

Yesterday, on Saturday, September 26, 2009, my cousin Nick and I attended New York Anime Festival at the Jacob Javits Center in New York City. It was a long day, starting early in the morning and ending late at night, but it was an enjoyable day. I got some great pictures, videos, and merchandise. What more could I ask for from a con?
After the jump are pictures and videos from the con and my thoughts on some various panels/activities my cousin and I attended.

Waiting for the train

Me waiting for the train

The day started off with waking up at 5:00 AM to get ready and head to the train station. The train took us to New York City, where my cousin and I walked to the Javits Center. We arrived about 30 minutes ahead of schedule, which was a very good thing because when the con started we didn’t have to wait in line long to enter the show room.

The line before the doors opened

The line before the doors opened

Once the doors were opened and the sea of people entered the show room, we browsed around for a little bit until we got in line for the Yui Makino concert. There was a decent line at least a half hour before her performance started. Nick and I got alright sets, seated the right of the stage, slightly blocked by a giant pillar. After sitting for around 15 minutes an interview with Yui Makino was showed on the large screen and some trailers were played featuring Japanese fans of Yui Makino.

Yui Makino interview video

Yui Makino interview video

It seemed like a long wait, but finally Yui Makino showed up. The disappointing part was that no flash photography or video recording was allowed. Yui Makino took the stage looking as gorgeous as ever. She had some very broken English, but it was very cute. She played a varied set of songs. Her songs ranged from just her voice and keyboard to a pre-recorded up-beat instrumental. The set was actually pretty long, she played well over five songs. The audio wasn’t the best sounding thing in the world, and at times her voice was hard to hear. Her singing voice definitely has moments of awesome, but then at times isn’t anything spectacular. Once she was done performing everyone headed towards the stage for pictures.

Yui Makino is in the middle of the crowd, think you can find her?

Yui Makino is in the middle of the crowd, think you can find her?

I got a picture as she waved in my direction!

I got a picture as she waved in my direction!

When Yui Makino left the performance room Nick and I browsed the Artists’ Alley. There was some very impressive art there. Great job to everyone who had a booth there. We stopped briefly at a panel discussing Japanese music in America, but it isn’t to interesting or informing so we left that panel.

I got some footage of the Bayonetta game play, and it looks very similar to the Devil May Cry games but with a female lead.


I had planned to watch the AKB48 preview concert, but I wasn’t sure how many songs they would be playing or how big it would be. My cousin and I happened to be around the area where the small preview concert would be taking place so we decided to wait. I ended up standing right next to the right side of the stage, so thank goodness we arrived a little early.

Picture of AKB48 poster

Picture of AKB48 poster

Boy was I wrong about the preview concert, it seemed almost like AKB48 played an entire set. The girls were all so cute and the crowd was very into the music. It was fun energetic and fun to watch.
Poorly taken backside shot of the girls

Poorly taken backside shot of the girls

There was a huge crowd watching the performance, I was very surprised, but now I can see why there were so many people watching and enjoying the show. Great job girls!

Here are 7 videos I took during the AKB48 performance:







Once the AKB48 preview concert ended I browsed the show room taking pictures of cosplayers while Nick shopped around for a little bit. Here’s what I got:

Kamina and Yoko cosplay

Yoko and Kamina cosplay from Gurren Lagann

Sango cosplay from Inuysha

Sango cosplay from Inuysha

Hatsune Miku cosplay

Hatsune Miku cosplay

Vash cosplay and a Naruto character

Vash cosplay and unidentified

Ragna the Bloodedge cosplay

Ragna the Bloodedge cosplay

Naruto cosplayers

Naruto cosplayers

Link cosplay

Link cosplay

Katamari cosplay

Katamari cosplay

K-On! cosplay

K-On! cosplay

Unsure of the character, but great job!

Unsure of the character, but great job!

The Melancholy of Haruhi Suzumiya cosplay

The Melancholy of Haruhi Suzumiya cosplay

Dr. Stein from Soul Eater

Dr. Stein from Soul Eater

Unsure of the character, but awesome job!

Unsure of the character, but awesome job!

D.Gray-man mix cosplay

D.Gray-man mix cosplay

Thank you cosplayers for letting me take your pictures, you all looked fantastic! As soon as I was tired of taking pictures, which must not of been that long of a time based on the number of pictures I took, I decided to do some shopping. There was literally tons of different merchandise, and it is really tough decided what to get.

All the merch together

All the merch together

Hana Kimi Box Set

Hana Kimi Box Set

Rei bed sheet

Rei bed sheet

Headphone Girls artbook

Headphone Girls artbook

Two pages from Headphone Girls

Headphone Girls picture 1

Headphone Girls picture 2

Headphone Girls picture 2

Headphone Girls picture 3

Headphone Girls picture 3

Headphone Girls picture 4

Headphone Girls picture 4

Headphone Girls picture 5

Headphone Girls picture 5

Mugeno Artbook cover

Mugeno Artbook cover

Mugeno picture 1

Mugeno picture 1

Mugeno picture 2

Mugeno picture 2

Mugeno picture 3

Mugeno picture 3

Mugeno picture 4

Mugeno picture 4

Ryu Moto Artbook Volume 11 Cover

Ryu Moto Artbook Volume 11 Cover

Ryu Moto Artbook Volume 11 picture 1

Ryu Moto Artbook Volume 11 picture 1

Ryu Moto Artbook Volume 11 picture 2

Ryu Moto Artbook Volume 11 picture 2

K-books 15th Anniversary Cover

K-books 15th Anniversary Cover

K-books picture 1

K-books picture 1

K-books picture 2

K-books picture 2

K-books picture 3

K-books picture 3

K-books picture 4

K-books picture 4

Free picture board I got of girl holding a guitar

Free picture board I got of girl holding a guitar


So in the end I got a few art books, the Hana Kimi box set, a Rei bed sheet, and a Yoko cellphone charm. I’m happy with what I got, the art books are very nice. The K-books 15 Anniversary is a slight trap though, with one half being yaoi, but at least the art looks nice. I always saw different pictures from the headphone girls art book (maybe on dannychoo), and I thought that it looked great. When I saw it, I just knew I had to get it! The Mugeno art book is a combination of various artists that submitted their work for a contest. Every page of art has the artist’s website, usually their deviant art, and a short description of the piece. I talked to the creator who put the book together, and he said it was an experiment. I would have to say it worked out very well, I would purchase a volume 2. The book is definitely an inspiration to me and contains a lot of good art.

New York Anime Festival was a very enjoyable time, the AKB48 preview concert was awesome. It was the largest con I have been to, so the amount of people was surprising, and at times I did feel a little crowded, but that was mostly due to small areas that sellers had and everyone jamming into that little area. Everything seemed to run pretty smoothly, and I had no major problems. It was a good time, and I can’t wait until the next con I attend.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. bluebrisingr permalink
    09/27/2009 9:44 AM

    Dang! NYAF looks freaking awesome from your pics and descriptions of it. You’re so lucky that you got to go!

    • Brett permalink*
      09/27/2009 9:58 AM

      Thanks, yeah I guess I was pretty lucky. It was a very fun time. 🙂

  2. 09/27/2009 11:24 PM

    Looked like a blast! I instantly recognized that headphone girls art book as well from dannychoo. ^^

    Too bad it’s held when my college fall semester has already started. Otherwise I would consider going if it was in the summer or something. New York is on the other side of the country for me. =/

    • Brett permalink*
      09/28/2009 6:03 AM

      It is actually a really nice art book, I really like it.
      I’m sure there are some big west coast cons! Right? ;p NYAF isn’t that large compared to some other cons on the east coast, but it seemed pretty big.

      • 09/28/2009 11:26 PM

        Went to Anime Expo this year, probably largest con on the west coast. But yeah, always cool going to other places. ^^

  3. 10/05/2009 7:35 AM

    Hey, you should have said hi to people! I was part of the giant throng of anime bloggers wandering around with Press badges.

    Glad to hear it was great for you as well.

    • Brett permalink*
      10/05/2009 2:46 PM

      The Press badges sounds like a good idea. :p
      Next time I’ll have to say hello!

  4. 02/06/2011 2:27 PM

    ~:- that seems to be a great topic, i really love it ‘`.

Leave a Reply

