Skip to content

Macross Frontier – 1

09/23/2009

ranka_kawaii
Macross Frontier ended just about a year ago in Japan. I had planned to watch it, but never got around to it, until now.
I’ll be honest, I have never seen Robotech or any Macross properties. I know nothing about the setting or storyline, let alone characters. All I knew before starting this was that there are huge aircraft robot shifting mechas that fight aliens.

alto-wet

I enjoyed the first episode of Macross Frontier. It turned out having no previous knowledge of the universe didn’t matter. It seems like a fresh set of characters and a new story to go with it. Episode 1 basically introduces the characters and shows some alien force attacking the Macross Frontier, which is a huge ship where humans live, and traverses through space. In the prologue a little bit of the story going into the show is explained.

sheryl-concert

From what I can tell, the main character is Alto, a student at a prestigious military school on Frontier. There are two other named characters which I know are throughout the series. One being a young girl with green hair named Ranka Lee, and the super gorgeous female pop idol Sheryl Nome. While Ranka doesn’t play much of a roll in episode 1, the character of Sheryl is revealed as snobby and stuck-up, but dedicated to performing for her fans.

sons-a-bitches

Alto and a few other classmates are hired to do an air performance for the Sheryl Nome concert on Frontier. They wear these cheesey-ass suits that colored fog comes out of. The main character is seen wearing one for almost the entire first episode, and I’ll be honest, I think they look stupid. I really hope I am not forced to see them all the time. During the performance an emergence signal is sent throughout Frontier. The concert is cut short and Frontier forces must fight the invading aliens. The episode ends with a pilot being killed and Alto getting into his mecha to fight the alien in order to protect Ranka and Frontier. That was probably a terrible summary, but anyways…

mecha-fire

I was extremely impressed by the music, whether it be the opening song or the Sheryl Nome concert music. The show seems to have some style, especially during the concert. It looks fantastic. The mechas are 3-D CGI, and I must say they look pretty impressive. They don’t look to out of place in comparison to the traditional animations.
I am not sure how I feel about Sheryl, hopefully her character shapes up and she stops acting like she is “all-that.” I really hated the stupid flying suits that Alto and crew were wearing, but I can’t imagine them being to consistent or a typical outfit for every episode. I really like Ranka, she is so cute and seems like an enjoyable character. I can’t wait to see what happens with her.

ranka-phone

My single favorite part of the episode was Ranka’s phone. Hopefully one day our phones are squishy frog like plushies.

see-you-next-deculture-1

I’m very excited to keep watching this series. It has a nice variety of scenes so far.
On to episode 2!

Sorry about the subs and low quality screens, I will be watching the series in 720 with .mkv format starting with episode 10.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. 09/23/2009 11:23 PM

    I saw this series with no prior knowledge of the universe as well. I must admit that I found it quite enjoyable.

    Wait until the larger battles, missiles and lasers all over the place. 🙂

    • Brett permalink*
      09/24/2009 5:33 AM

      Well I’m glad, the show seems to have some promise!

Leave a Reply

