Skip to content

Tengen Toppa Gurren Lagann Gurren-hen – Review

09/21/2009

simon-epic

I have never had my had my hair stand on end this many times in two hours. This entire movie was a jacked up trip of nostalgia, and I loved it. It had some short comings, but if you’re a fan of the series, the movie is a must watch.
The movie starts off in a similar fashion to the series. Kamina and Simon are living underground. One day a Gunman shows up, as does Yoko. The movie is sort of a two hour long recap of the series right until the fight with Lord Genome. There are definitely some new scenes, like at the end when the two remaining generals and Viral combine, only to be defeated by team Dai-Gurren. The news scenes don’t add/change much of the original story, but they are welcome.

rainbow-peeing

There is one point where the “Raw Raw Fight the Power!” song plays and it honestly just made me want to pump my fists and chant the song. Whether it is over-used or dumb, I can’t help but love it. It seems to just fit the series so perfect.

simon-drill-pierce-heavens

The show has such a distinct and original style in its mecha glory. I love the mech designs from all the Gunmen to Gurren and Lagann. It just seems very well put together. There went anything animation or design falws that bugged me besides the occasional funny, awkward look of Yoko’s face a few times.

kamina-no!

The major flaw would be the lack of character development displayed in an abridged version of the original series. I mean it is almost impossible to convey everything the team went through. The entire movie seemed like fan-service, but for new fans I can’t imagine it seeming to spectacular. The fresh viewers wouldn’t understand the significance of Kamina’s character and his death. They would be able to appreciate the show for its strong points, being great design, music, and action. If anything, I would hope a person new to Gurren Lagann would enjoy the movie enough to go and watch the series.

pastel-poster

In short, it was a good movie if you are a fan of the series or are looking for some mecha action. The movie looks great, but has some short comings story wise. I can’t wait to watch Lagann-hen (the sequel) when subs come out. If Bandai picks up the movie(s) it would be an instant purchase. This movie has definitely resparked my interest in the series, and I think I may go back and rewatch it very soon.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. 09/21/2009 10:53 PM

    Whilst I definitely loved the new scenes at the start and end of the movie, I couldn’t help but feel Gainax was cynically exploiting its fanbase by simply reusing existing footage for 90% of the movie.

    Not to say I didn’t love it, but it would have been nice if Gainax would at least reanimate slightly more then just 10% of the movie -_-

    • Brett permalink*
      09/22/2009 5:59 AM

      I can agree fully with that, it would have been nice, but I bet if they changed the plot to much it might tick off some fans. I guess it was a tough decision, or they just wanted to make some money. ;p

  2. 09/22/2009 12:36 AM

    I need to get around to watching this sometime to remind myself of epicness.

  3. 09/23/2009 4:00 PM

    I also didn’t like the reuse of most footage…It was like watching a very long recap episode and nothing more.

    Good things though?

    1. I got to watch this on a HUGE screen in a huge room with an extremely good sound system back at Anime Expo…which made it pretty much awesome even though it was rehashed footage.

    2. The first half of the series was always the most boring crappy part of the show for me, I actually avoided bothering to rewatch the series because of that first half – this takes care of all that quickly. I wouldn’t skip them the first time through cuz yeah, character development and such, but after seeing it once you don’t really need that part of the show. It’s much like Eva in that the first batch of episodes is just plain boring after you’ve seen it once.

    • Brett permalink*
      09/23/2009 4:16 PM

      I can agree with 2. Now that you mention it, Eva is like that in that sense. Watching 1.0 You [are] not alone I thought it was pretty boring. I mean it was updated and looked fresh, but it was just like the same old it seemed.

  4. Khayal101 permalink
    10/21/2009 1:28 AM

    Fist of all, great look on the movie, people usually either praise the hell out of it, or bruetilly insult it. The Movie was a great fanservice, but it didn’t work to well with storytelling, and they removed everything about Kamina’s father, witch is a subtle reason for the way he acts now, I wish he could of been mentioned. Also I wish Kittan and Rossiue could have been introduced better aswell. In a way it reminded me of The Gunbuster Movie, the cuts they made, because they sort of removed the silly humer in the begining, making the fights more intense then funny. I still loved this movie but I think new fans should watch the series first, its not like its slow or anything, its a great watch. I always love compialation movies though, its a great way to rewatch a series faster, it works with gundam. Lagann-hen will have 2wise as much new footage, so that makes me happy, Im really looking forward to the second movie (January 27th!) btw Simon’s new revival scene may have been the coolest thing I ever saw.

Leave a Reply

